Drum machines have no soul, which is why I use them


Role-play, P3CULIAR’s debut LP, will be released on Tuesday, April 8th by Casete Records in Latin America & Europe, and Kin Kon Records in the US. Spotify, iTunes, Amazon, Google Play – you’ll be able to find it everywhere. A few of you may acquire a limited vinyl pressing (500 copies) if you participate in the pre-sale.

Let’s talk record production: I experimented a lot with pitch shifting, a process which raises or lowers the pitch of recorded audio, while writing most of the songs on Role-play. Since my original idea was to have certain guests – some male, some female – sing on the final tracks, I recorded most of the demos using my own manipulated vocals. But then these vocals, which were basically placeholders, charmed me; the odd quality of the effect gave the songs an interesting layer of artifice.

Many musicians, singers, and producers – especially analog purists – are absolutely horrified by the idea highly-processed audio. They would say it lacks “warmth,” or something along those lines, which is probably right. But some of the songs in Role-play have dark and sinister themes, so I wanted no warmth. While programming the sequences of these songs I though of an old-school goth friend and the hilarious bumper sticker he proudly placed on his car: “Drum machines have no soul.”

Songwriting is half storytelling, half acting. Composers often create a story – not always personal – then perform their tale as a protagonist or a narrator. I decided to call my debut Role-play because I pretend to be certain characters in my songs. Pitch shifting allows me to sound like them.  

Ah, but I know you won’t be able to live with yourself unless you hear my natural singing voice, so I left some vocals unprocessed (the verses on “Party Girl,” for example). Plus I did get a couple of guests to perform on the record: The young and talented rapper Cakes Da Killa (“Menea”), and the charismatic Sisely Treasure (“Start A Fight”). There’s ten songs on Role-play and they’re eclectic mix of funky pop, eerie cumbia, tropical rap, and dark electro. I co-produced the record along with Ulises Lozano (Kinky, Amandititita, Mexican Dubwiser), and will begin shooting a video for “Wicked” at the end of the month with the Vidi Vici TV crew.

And no, the picture above is not the record cover, but you will see it very soon.

Role-play tracklist:

  • 1. Hazme El Amor
  • 2. Wicked
  • 3. Menea Feat. Cakes Da Killa
  • 4. Start A Fight Feat. Sisely Treasure
  • 5. Look So Good
  • 6. Star
  • 7. Party Girl
  • 8. Walk Under The Moonlight
  • 9. Yo Te Amo, Te Amo
  • 10. The Well

Would you like to stay informed? Follow P3CULIAR on Twitter or Facebook.